What Happens When You’re Thrown A Curve?


Hi! I missed posting yesterday.  I had new windows installed in my home.  You know how much you have to do when you have new windows installed?  First you have to move all of that stuff that is in front of the windows out-of-the-way because the workers need a certain amount of clearance to do their jobs.  Besides, you don’t want dusk and debris all over your stuff.

Once you move everything, then you have to take down any existing window coverings.  There is the inevitable question, will I be able to re-hang these window coverings or do I need new ones.  Ugh.  It’s ugh already and they are not here yet to begin the installation.

Upheaval aside, buying something that enhances your property, makes it more comfortable and attractive inside and out is a good thing.  So, the installers come and immediately there are issues.  This is to be a full install, but installer has a different idea.  A full install means removing all of the existing wood framing, framing it with new wood and then adding the window.   He thought all they were suppose to do was sit the window on the existing wood frame. He has to call.  I’m right and he’s wrong and he was not a happy man. That unhappiness was apparent throughout the day.

Next issue, the measurement of the window is slightly off.  The brick had to be shaved ever so slightly.  The installer has the company call me to tell me this.  Guess I’m getting the silent treatment.  It’s okay.  I understand his frustration.  He had a plan for how to accomplish this install and he had a major curve thrown at him.

Now, in addition to the 6 windows, I was also having a new door installed.  Everything was proceeding nicely it seemed until they got ready to put the storm door back up.  It would not close with the new front door closed.  The door knobs were in the same spot. My poor frustrated installer wanted to leave the door off.  Of course, I was having none of that.

Call to the company once again. I guess he received a suggested resolution. He still wasn’t talking to me. He raised the storm door.  He had to put a piece at the bottom of the door to keep air out and make it flush again.

It was a long exhausting hot day.  The heat index was over 100 degrees.  But my poor exhausted installer and his crew finally finished at 6pm.   After all that we went through, he was finally able to smile and wish me a good day.  I offered the same to him.  He said what I already knew, “I was not prepared for the full cut out of those windows.”

Thrown a major curve, he became angry and each hiccup that occurred on this project only added to his frustration.  On such a hot day, he expended more than the normal energy because of it.

How do you handle things when something totally unexpected disrupts your routine?  Take the poll. Thanks.

Please Let Me Know What You Think.

